

# An Update from the Standing Committee

# Thank you for following and praying about the search for the bishop of the Episcopal Church in Utah.

Since the last Standing Committee update in late December, much has happened as we move forward in the bishop search and transition process. The committee continues its work to ensure a spirit based process. Below is a list of what we have been up to and how you can participate in the process.

## **Bishop Search Website**

We are happy to announce that the website for the bishop search process has launched. You can find it at: <u>www.utahbishopsearch.org</u> The bishop search site will be a one-stop for information about the committees and process, updates, resources, and eventually the Diocesan profile and the bishop search application. It will be updated regularly as the process unfolds.

### **Nominating Committee**

The Nominating Committee was elected at the Convocation on January 11<sup>th</sup>. The members are: Rev. Michael Carney, chair, Atem Aleu, Rhonda Dossett, Bill Downes, The Very Rev. Tyler Doherty, Mary McEntire, Mike Mitchell, Rick Stevenson, Rev. Christopher Szarke, Rev. Kathalin Walker. The Standing Committee is grateful for their commitment and enthusiasm. The Standing Committee also appointed a Chaplain for the Nominating Committee.

### Standing Committee/Nominating Committee Retreat

The Standing Committee organized a retreat which was held February 7<sup>th</sup> & 8<sup>th</sup> at the Episcopal Church Center. The facilitator was The Very Rev. Ron Clingenpeel, our search consultant. In attendance was the Nominating Committee and Standing Committee. Fr. Ron imparted much information to the group with specific tasks to be completed and how to proceed to complete those tasks. The Nominating Committee will be publishing a timeline on the bishop search website. Members of the Nominating Committee were Commissioned during Eucharist. The Standing Committee Charge to the Nominating Committee is posted on the bishop search website. www.utahbishopsearch.org

### **Transition Committee**

The Standing Committee is happy to announce the Chair of the Transition Committee is Russ Pack. Russ is a member of St Pauls' SLC and serves on Diocesan Council. You might remember Russ as a Coordinator of volunteers for the 2015 General Convention that was held in Salt Lake City. The Standing Committee will discern and appoint a Transition Committee to work with Russ. The Transition Committee is a sub-committee of the Standing Committee and oversees the election and transition of the bishop elect. Some of the tasks are: 1. Organize the presentation of the candidates to the diocese. 2. Organize the election of the bishop-elect. 3. Transition of bishop-elect into the diocese. 4. Organizes the Ordination weekend. The Transition Committee Job Description and an online application form will be available in a couple of weeks.

#### **Theological Statement & Prayer**

Rev. Lyn Briggs, Standing Committee member, has beautifully put into words the Search Prayer and Theological Statement. We hope each congregation will read and pray throughout the entire process of calling our next bishop.

#### **Search Prayer**

Gracious God, we are grateful for all that you are and for all you have done through the Episcopal Diocese of Utah. We ask you now draw us closer to you and to each other as we engage in the search for our new bishop. Grant us discerning hearts which will fully trust in the guidance of your Holy Spirit. Bless the people of this diocese with your power and purpose and bless this holy work we do in your name to your glory. This we ask in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

#### Search Theological Statement

The Episcopal Diocese of Utah is excited to follow Jesus into God's future, empowered by the Holy Spirit. Together, we walk the Way of Love as we participate in God's work in the world.

In conclusion, we ask your prayers for us, the Standing Committee, as we continue this important and holy work.

If you have any questions about the search, please direct them to standingcommittee@episcopal-ut.org

Faithfully,

Nancy Tanner, President Rev. Garang Gabriel Atem Rev. Lyn Briggs Kurt Cook debi Kuwada Rev. Isabel Gonzalez